Back in DC

Austin finally revealed itself and the time was right to head out. So, back in DC for a few months to regroup. Hopefully some money opportunities will present themselves as well. I’ve been hitting up my storage bins, full of all kinds of things I couldn’t do without, yet somehow did for 18 months. I’m constantly minimizing, which is to say I’m always clearing space for something new. Not exactly the Thoreauvian reality I picture in my minds eye. It’s pretty amazing when you really think about all of the purchases we make outside of our true meager needs. If you really think about commerce, marketing, material desires, etc…..it’s baffling that we constantly fall prey to the ploy. Always thinking the shiny and new will finally make us fully content. It’s pure thin air. Literally no need for most of it….and yet we trade so much of our time and energy playing. Why do we do it? To feel desirable. Loved. Respected. So others will see us as the role we’ve purchased. To fill emotional voids. Boredom. Justification for all the time spent earning the money in the first place. The list goes on. No easy answers. As for me…..no new purchases for a while. I’ve got enough shit to find a home for!

Leave a Reply

